2016 Winners

NAPO Top Cops

Each year since 1994 NAPO has presented the TOP COPS Awards® Ceremony.   The purpose of the TOP COPS Awards® is to educate the American public about our nation’s heroes and to pay tribute to law enforcement officers in federal, state, county, tribal and local agencies from across the country for actions above and beyond the call of duty during the preceding year. Our TOP COPS are nominated by fellow officers.  An independent Awards Selection Committee comprised of national law enforcement representatives select, from hundreds of nominations, one TOP COP case from each of the 50 States and U.S. territories.  Officers from the top ten cases are selected as our  TOP COPS Award® Winners.  In each remaining state, one case has been selected for which the officer(s) will receive an Honorable Mention award.   More



Phoenix Police Department

Police Officer Phillip Akins


Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department

Patrolman Ronald Clayton, Jr. 
Patrolman Richard Weaver


Kentucky State Police

Trooper First Class Jason McCowan
Trooper First Class David T. Long

United States Marshals Service

Deputy U.S. Marshal Adrian Romaniuk


Boston Police Department

Detective Brian Ball
Police Officer Gregg Bowden
Police Officer James Conley
Police Officer Brian Johnson
Police Officer Janet P. Lewis
Police Officer Dennis Medina
Police Officer John Moynihan

Massachusetts State Police

Trooper William Cameron


New York

New York City Police Department

Police Officer Geraldo W. Casaigne
Police Officer Lauren O’Rourke

New York

New York State Police

Technical Sergeant Jay D. Cook


Philadelphia Police Department

Police Officer Damien Stevenson


Chattanooga Police Department

Field Training Officer Keven Flanagan
Master Patrol Officer Jeff Lancaster
Master Patrol Officer Sean P. O’Brien
Master Patrol Officer Dennis Pedigo, Jr.
Patrol Officer Lucas Timmons
Master Patrol Officer
Grover Lee Wilson III


Austin Police Department

Police Officer Carlos Lopez


Fort Worth Police Department

Police Officer Byron Wylie




Texarkana Arkansas Police Department

Corporal Kristi Bennett


Los Angeles Police Department

Police Officer Jonathan Avila
Police Officer II Alfredo Lamas 

District of Columbia

Metropolitan Police Department

Officer Christopher Michael Brown
Officer James C. Da Re
Officer Perry B. Morgan, Jr.
Officer Ammar Rahim
Officer Matthew D. Rider 


Palm Beach County Sheriff's Office

Deputy Sheriff John M. Ross


Normal Police Department

Officer Aaron Rowe
Officer Jonathan McCauley


Bossier Parish Sheriff's Office

Agent Brandon H. Masters

Caddo Parish Sheriff's Office

Corporal Stuart G. Talbot

DeSoto Parish Sheriff's Office

Sergeant David J. Boudreaux
Sergeant Benjamin A. Jones 

Shreveport Police Department

Task Force Officer Jerry Alan Alkire

Federal Bureau of Investigation

Special Agent Charles "Erik" Simon
Special Agent Michael J. Wagoner
Special Agent Howard White 


Baltimore County Police Department

Lieutenant Deanna L. Chemelli
Police Officer Sloane E. Fuller 

New Jersey

Hamilton Police Division

Police Officer Devin Hendricksen
Police Officer Richard A. Rettzo 


North Las Vegas Police Department

Officer Drew Albers
Officer Jason Scarale 


Twinsburg Police Department

Patrolman James C. Swope


Oologah Police Department

Lieutenant Charles D. Neill


Portland Police Bureau

Officer Jeffrey Dorn


Newport News Police Department

Master Police Detective James H. Huling

West Virginia

Wheeling Police Department

Sergeant John R. Schultz


New York City Police Department

Detective Kim M. Strafella

Federal Bureau of Investigation

Supervisory Special Agent Andrew Pachtman
Special Agent Megan A. Dolan
Special Agent Ryan Singer


Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms & Explosives

Deputy Chief Rachel H. Ehrlich-Ellis
Resident Agent in Charge Melissa A. Merola
Supervisory Special Agent Jeffrey L. Matthews
Special Agent Todd R. Fleming
Special Agent Jeremy Horbert
Special Agent Timothy Jones
Special Agent David A. Stone
Special Agent Anthony W. Tolomeo